Arrested for DUI?
The maximum penalties for a misdemeanor first DUI conviction in California is a $1,000 fine plus over $2,600 in penalty assessments, six months’ imprisonment in the county jail, a six-month license suspension ; ten months for blood alcohol level of 0.15% or more, having your vehicle “impounded” (stored at your expense) for 30 days, and being required to attach an “interlock” breath device to your vehicle that will not allow the car to start if there is any alcohol on your breath. This will cost you about $800.
Violation of Lease Agreement?
If you're thinking about evicting a tenant in California, you’ll first need a reason that complies with the law. The most common reasons to evict a tenant include failure to pay rent, damage to the property, or violation of the lease or rental agreement. Evicting a tenant in California can be complicated and it’s never a bad idea to speak with a real estate attorney.
Custody Battle with your Ex?
There are several child custody factors in California to which courts will look when deciding on custody cases. The first and most important is your child’s best interests. After that, your child’s age, health, emotional ties, and ties to school and community are considered, as well as any history of family abuse or neglect. California child custody procedure centers mostly around creating a parenting plan. The parenting plan lays out the details of custody, and should amenable to you and your ex. More importantly, it must be in your child’s best interests, otherwise a court will not accept it. Child custody matters can be legally complex and emotionally difficult. You will find that speaking with an attorney about your case is extremely helpful.
Aggressive Trial Attorney
At the Law Office of David Butler, we are passionate about delivering bold and compassionate legal assistance to clients during the entirety of their case. With decades of combined experience helping residents throughout San Francisco and the state of California, our Attorney understands that each case is different
We take an individualized approach to creating strategic solutions that solve their unique problems.
If you've been charged with a crime you have little power against the State of California without the help of a lawyer. Let us help you change that. As criminal defense attorneys, our legal team possesses a unique set of skills. We understand the importance of compassionate legal guidance coupled with aggressive advocacy for the rights of each client.
How to Evict a Tenant in California
As a California landlord, you are entitled to remove tenants who violate the lease agreement on the property they are renting. Assuming their violation is valid, you may immediately begin proceedings to warn and then remove the tenant, if they refuse to heed your warning. Evicting a tenant is rarely easy, but by following proper procedure, you can avoid months of additional legal hassle and lost potential rent income.
Tenants when threatened with eviction become very tenacious contesting their right to remain in the property. Tenants have many defenses and free legal help available to them. They frequently claim that the eviction notice was not the proper notice or it wasn’t served correctly - or both. Renters will also frequently try to raise some wrongdoing by the landlord to deflect attention from themselves.
Experienced Divorce Attorneys
There are 3 main ways to end a marriage or registered domestic partnership in California: divorce, legal separation, and annulment. It is not necessary for both spouses or domestic partners to agree to end the marriage. Either spouse or partner can decide to end the marriage, and the other spouse/partner, even if he or she does not want to get a divorce, cannot stop the process by refusing to participate in the case.
If a spouse or domestic partner does not participate in the divorce case, the other spouse/partner will still be able to get a “default” judgment and the divorce will go through.
California is a “no fault” divorce state, which means that the spouse or domestic partner that is asking for the divorce does not have to prove that the other spouse or domestic partner did something wrong. To get a no fault divorce, 1 spouse or domestic partner has to state that the couple cannot get along. Legally, this is called “irreconcilable differences.”